[Return]

Report a post

Preview
>actively monitoring and going through self deleted posts
All baleeted posts are visible to admins and mods (but not janitors IIRC) on the boards as if they were never deleted, except that they're slightly greyed out and have a "DELETED" label. The exceptions are posts that have been "purged", which we do for CP and old deleted posts. There's a separate area for viewing only deleted posts, but there's not much reason to ever go there

Mods were always able to see when a user had baleeted their own post via the action log, but the ability to view and restore deleted posts is a relatively recent feature. Teh purposes are:

1. to review and revert the decisions of other staff-san. E.g. they baleeted a post for an invalid reason, they misclicked (we've all done it ^^;), or a troll has mistakenly been granted a janitor account and used it to mass-delete posts (which did happen earlier this year...)
2. to restore user-deleted posts that we believe shouldn't have been deleted. E.g. a thread that provided (or had the potential to provide) LOLs and OC

Posts that were deleted due to typos, errors, etc. will virtually never be restored - only in rare cases like the one mentioned above, where a user was allegedly trying to circumvent a wordfilter (I never saw/noticed this so I can't comment on it). These types of baleetions are extremely common, and staff-san frequently do it themselves, so there's no reason to feel self-conscious over it
Post number No.69761
Board Site Discussion@Heyuri
Optional. Describe what's wrong with it.